BSSP's Annual General Meeting 2017

On 7th December 2017 we held the British Society’s Annual General Meeting where British organisations such as St. Paul’s School, St. Paul’s Anglican Cathedral, the Royal British Legion, the Carajás Scouts, St. Andrew’s Society, and São Paulo Yacht Club (SPYC) presented their 2017 achievements along with their plans for 2018.

We are proud to inform that the FBB elected Mr Matthew Govier as a new trustee and we wish him all the best for a three-year term. Mr Govier will join former trustees Mr. Douglas Munro, Mr. John Pacey and Mr. Andrew Macdonald.

We would also like to welcome Mr. Thomas Berkes who has joined the Board as Councillor in the position left by Mr. Robert Filshill. The Board of Members will now be composed by Mr. Michael Betenson as President, Mrs. Rachel Govier as Vice-President, Mr. Nicholas McCarthy as Treasurer, and Mr. Matthew Evans as Secretary. As Directors at Large we will have Mr. Marcos Versteeg, Mr. Anthony Jezzi as well as Mr. Thomas Berkes, along with Mr. Duncan Lawrie and Mr. Philip Reade.

Mr. Derek Barnes has stepped down from his position as a trustee and received a silver plaque in recognition to his outstanding support to the community for the past 40 years.

If you have any doubts or suggestions regarding the British Society send your message to and we will get back to you as soon as possible. It’s always a pleasure to hear from the community members.